LHD boundaries as described are approximate and subject to change. Consult the LHD Study Report on file with the relevant local district commission or municipal authority to verify district boundaries and whether a specific property, particularly one in proximity of a boundary line, is within the district. Also note that LHD boundaries may differ from those of State or National Register Districts.
The nucleus of the picturesque vernacular house is a late 19th century carriage barn which explains the half-size windows flanking the broad central cross gable with two-over-two sash. The facade, which also features coupled windows, is sheltered by a verandah with turned posts and a projecting gabled to define the central entrance bay. The west chimney is interior, while that on the east end is exterior, laid up in the rubble-coursed fieldstone. Each gable end is sheated with imbricated shingles half way down the height of the windows. The house is extremely well preserved and was converted from a barn about 1900. 
The picturesque vernacular house was built about 1900 from a carriage barn that originally stood on the north side of Cross Highway, across from its present location. The farm was owned by Joseph Meeker and then his son Augustus Meeker, who moved the barn and converted it. It replaces an earlier house that burned. In 1908 John Wakeman purchased the farm from Mary Meeker. Wakeman moved from his farm in the Compo Hill area and ran a dairy and onion farm on acreage that was located on both sides of Cross Highway. The non-extant onion barns were on the north side. The Wakemans gave up onion cultivation by 1920, and the cows were sold off after World War II. The family then expanded its poultry operations, and about 1960 they moved from chicken farming to growing vegetables. After John Wakeman's death, the farm passed to his son Isaac, the currant occupant, in 1928. The c. 1920 chicken houses and equipment sheds survive, but the onion barns have been removed. 
Assessors information retrieved from the website www.visionappraisal.com.
 Historic Property information retrieved from the town of website http://www.westportct.gov/.
 Wakeman Farmhouse, Historic Property Study Report, 2008, SHPO library, Hartford.
 McCahon Mary E., Wakeman Farmhouse, Historic Resources Inventory, 1988, SHPO library, Hartford.
 Historic District handbook accessed in the town website [http://www.westportct.gov/modules/showdocument.aspx?documentid=280].
GIS information retrieved from http://www.westportct.gov/index.aspx?page=538.